Day 1 Recap

Day One is done! *insert victory dance here*

You’ve got to celebrate the little things, right?! Health Tip: So I have invested in the MyFitnessPal Premium package for the year, and this will make it MUCH easier on myself in tracking my food intake & ensuring that I stay under 20 grams of carbs/day — which I did! (13 grams… I’d like to thank Fiber for making this all possible). What was awesome is that this is not a deprivation diet. And that is HUGE for me! It’s probably going to make the difference in having a positive mindset throughout this whole thing, leading to success each day! For instance, last night I was invited for some girls time to watch the Bachelor Finale (I didn’t watch this season, but the psychology perspective watching this show is quite entertaining!) and drink some wine. Luckily enough, my Fiber intake allowed for some room in my carbs that was in the wine, and wallah, life goes on as normalTherefore, I can watch my portions and still have fun! #winwin (For accountability purposes, the list of what I consumed shall be included at the bottom.)

Now overall, I felt that today went very well! I believe drinking a lot of water helped me in maintaining a feeling of satiety (which this type of fullness throughout the day was less dense, a different but lighter feeling!). It was a fairly busy day, and so I planned accordingly in ensuring that I had adequate food available to me every 2-3 hours, which was incredibly helpful in never putting myself in a desperate, anxious state of needing food NOW. Thanks, me. 🙂 Although I did notice a few times throughout the day, more so in the afternoon, that I was already having sugar cravings and food cravings in general. With food cravings, I’ve noticed that it’s not the fact that I am hungry necessarily, but I get a hunger feeling in my throat that wants food, w/o my stomach actually wanting the food. I have a feeling this awareness is going to help me in the long run! Now, the sugar cravings are something that I know I’m going to have to fight hard through, as this Candida is probably not too happy to be cut off right about now. I just keep envisioning life on the other side of this hurdle, and that’s what’s getting me through now! That, and being able to express myself and share the truth of my experience & struggles in this blog.

That being said, I had a visit with Dr. Jared today, & my BIA (a body scan of sorts) revealed that my weight is 208 lbs. (my target weight is projected to be around 134 lbs.), my Body Fat percentage is 90.5 lbs. (43.5%), Lean Dry Mass is 31.7 lbs. (15.2%), and Total Body Water is 85.7 lbs. (41.2%). We’re hoping to stabilize the water weight, decrease the body fat, & increase the lean dry mass. I’ll post updates after those visits! But I also wanted to stress the importance of working on emotional health alongside physical health. Because I am finding more & more the links, triggers, & stressors that can have a great impact on our state of being today. Somehow an experience from when I was 9 years old contributed to the formation of a belief that my weight would yo-yo for my entire life. An experience from middle school was brought up in regards being judged on the stark contrast between my high energy & timidness, which was a reason for some of my emotional eating episodes today. It’s wild how things from our past that we don’t even acknowledge today can still have power over us. That’s why it’s so important to let those things out & allow ourselves to HEAL! I’m going to step off of my soapbox now…

I’m just so excited to finally have an answer for my health & to be living it out today, one day at a time! Day One down, come on Day Two! #wedidit

 

Breakfast: 1/4 cup plain yogurt, 1 Tbsp Chia seeds, 1 handful of sliced almonds (for a small portion, it takes me longer than usual to chew & that allows for the fullness feeling to register w/o eating more than I need!)

Snack: Atkins strawberry protein shake (I bought 2 more packs at the store, they were SO GOOD!)

Lunch: 2 filets of salmon (SALMON IS LIFE!), 1 Tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil on top, 2 cups of spinach (Hello Fiber!)

Snack: Atkins Chocolate Chip protein bar (Not much of a chocolate fan, it was a’ight)

Dinner: 2 cod fillets (This one was tough for me, white fish is going to take some adjusting to… But it’s good for you, so that helps!), 1.5 Tbsp of Olive Oil, 1 cup of spinach

Snack: 2 mini cucumbers, 1 Colby Jack cheese stick, 1/2 cup of melted mozzarella cheese, 4 oz. of white wine

Water: 11 cups (2 cups just after waking up, made it a habit to drink some water every time I looked at my water bottle)

Leave a Reply

