Day 3: Yay Withdrawals & Cravings!

Oh boy, today was kind of rough! I seemed to have racked up the carb count very soon into the day, which was a bummer in my food choices for dinner! (After which I just started counting again right now & realized that I had made a mistake before, & had 8 MORE CARBS AVAILABLE! #JustALittleSalty… Eh, what can you do?)  I woke up hungry this morning, which could be attributed to waking up late or perhaps not getting enough to eat yesterday. I don’t quite know yet, but that’s the beauty of keeping a food log, it provides a chance for reflection & correction with what I’m choosing to eat & how much. I can’t tell you how handy this MyFitnessPal Premium app is!!! Another fun update: I am now in ketosis! So this means that my body is burning the fat stores that it has set up within my body, and this starts the process of my body balancing out again. *Celebrate good times, c’mon!*

The sugar cravings kind of kicked into high gear today. I definitely eyed the fruit section for a good couple of seconds, but I prevailed! 😉 It’s so easy to want to scrap all of the effort you have made just to give yourself a “little” treat. The funny thing is, our persuasive side can be so deceiving, saying that it wants to reward us, not deprive us, that we have earned it & deserve it. I can’t tell you how  many times in the past I have given in to this voice, succumbing under the guise of “self-compassion.” Now I’m starting to learn that some decisions can be made with the best of intentions & be quite misguided. Thank goodness I now see the light! But it doesn’t help when your best friend sends you a SnapChat picture of a friggin delicious cinnamon roll… the little stinker.

Anyway, with these first few days in the induction phase, I’m going to mainly focus on my progress with this change in lifestyle to continue my momentum forward. However, I definitely will begin to share more on the experiences I have had in my life, some nutrition education that I have learned in my classes, as well as any tips or thoughts that I am especially passionate about. Soon, but not quite yet!

I’ve just noticed that the past two days have only been just over 1,000 calories that I’ve eaten… That’s sure a testament on how whole foods keep you fuller for longer! Although my carbs were 12 grams today, so I’m doing a great job!

Breakfast: 1/4 cup plain yogurt, 1 Tbsp chia seeds, 1 handful sliced almonds

Lunch: 3 large slices of turkey lunchmeat (at least there is some kind of option protein-wise when the dining hall doesn’t have anything else that I can eat), 1 cup of broccoli, 1/2 cup cauliflower, 1/3 avocado

Snack: Milk Chocolate Delight Atkins protein shake (I took this To-Go when I had a recording session for our a cappella group, it was incredibly handy!)

Dinner: 2 oz. blackened salmon (I’m still working on getting better on guesstimates in size & weight of food), 4 oz. grilled chicken, 1 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Snack: Cranberry Almond Atkins bar

Water: 12 cups

Leave a Reply

